What do you want on your headstone?

27 Jan

“You sound stuffy,” says Karen, “are you coming down with something?”

“No,” I tell her, ” I was sanding back a painting, and I didn’t put on a mask—“

“And why would you? THAT would be silly!  Why wear a mask when lungs are such excellent filters?”

“Shut up, Karen.  AS I WAS SAYING, I was just going to sand it back a speck, but I ended up sanding a LOT because it really made me mad.”

“Of course.”  Says Karen.  “And…safety glasses? You had them on, right?”

“You should totally shut up. “

“So, no safety glasses either?  It would be silly to wear safety glasses when you’re using a rotary sander, because that’s what blinking and eyelashes are for!”

And it’s then that I have an epiphany.

“Can you put that on my headstone when I die?  Have them write  ‘Of COURSE I wasn’t wearing my safety equipment.‘   Because I think that about sums up my entire life.”

xxxxxxxxxxxx

2 Responses to “What do you want on your headstone?”

  1. jimazing February 11, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    … but you ARE wearing them now… right?

    • vakadesign February 12, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

      Yes, I absolutely wear them when I remember to. 😉

Leave a Reply

