Captain Obvious

14 May

You know, sometimes it takes me a while.  Really, you have no idea how the obvious evades me.  Sometimes it evades me for years, the tricky little booger.

Did you KNOW, blogosphere, that the French Canadian song “Allouette” is about plucking the feathers off a skylark?  I did not know this.   Saviez-vous cela?

4 Responses to “Captain Obvious”

  1. Virginia May 28, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    I knew it was about disfiguing a bird. I just didn’t know it was CANADIAN.

  2. mer May 28, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    What’s really awful is when you accidentally mix up “Alouette” and “Frere Jacques” and get
    Frere Jacques, gentille Frere Jacques
    Frere Jacques, je te plumerai.

    Which leaves you a song about plucking a monk and exactly how you plan to do that, by body part.

    PS: Happened by the blog after your grocery list was linked on WordPress’s front page and enjoy the story’s about your kids. So, hi.

  3. dw May 14, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    “Skylark, nice skylark
    Skylark, I will pluck from you
    I will pluck from you, your tail
    I will pluck from you, your tail
    And your tail, and your tail
    Skylark, skylark
    oOoOoOoOoh

    Skylark, nice skylark
    Skylark, I will pluck from you
    I will pluck from you, your head
    I will pluck from you, your head
    And your head, and your head
    Skylark, skylark
    oOoOoOoOoh”

    You get the idea, it was a good way to teach small children how to identify and pronounce all the names of body parts. The song can be as short or as long as you want it to be and can contain completely ridiculous lyrics (the last time I checked, skylarks don’t have fingers, e.g.). Also, it’s a bit of a call-and-response song, which we French Canadians seem to love.

    Just thought you might be interested to know.

Leave a Reply

