New Diamond

13 Oct

While  I’m not fond of white diamonds, I was intrigued by this one.  It’s peppered with the carbon that, when heavily present, makes a diamond black.   But this has just a bit of it….and I like it! 

.57 ct, 5 mm diamond

.57 ct, 5 mm diamond

 If we called this a white diamond, then these flecks would be seen as a detriment to the stone’s beauty;  they’d make it subpar, too heavily included to be valuable.  But if we call it a galaxy diamond (the name for this stone which is gaining ground in the world of alternative diamonds), or a dalmatian diamond (my own tag)?  Then it’s mysterious and cool, and somehow brings our minds back to how diamonds form.  They are of the earth, and as individual as you and I.   It’s unlikely you’d confuse this stone with another once you’d worn it and memorized it.

I think it all comes back to what we’ve been taught we’re supposed to value in diamonds, and I think that’s just silly.  That’s an idea which banks on us not thinking, and we like to think, don’t we?  Yes.  Yes, we do.

7 Responses to “New Diamond”

  1. mintyo January 5, 2010 at 3:44 am #

    Oh wow, I think I know what I’m asking Nick for next time he buys me a diamond Katie! It’s amazing!

  2. ramblette October 25, 2009 at 7:27 pm #

    I have never seen anything like that! It’s awesome. It would definitely be a conversation piece.

    • vakadesign October 25, 2009 at 9:35 pm #

      Isn’t it cool? It used to be that anything which fell short of the standard white diamond was used for industrial purposes (cutting, grinding tools). “Alternative” diamonds are really finding some love now, and I’m totally in the fan club! I find champagnes and diamonds like these to be so much more rich and interesting. The luster and colorplay diamonds are famous for, but more more interesting.

  3. Karen October 14, 2009 at 11:04 am #

    I guess “dirty diamond” is a no-no.

  4. Tara October 13, 2009 at 10:09 pm #

    well. it’s beautiful. Who cares what the rest of the world thinks. Can’t wait to see what you do with it!

    • vakadesign October 14, 2009 at 11:31 am #

      I’m glad you like it! I always wonder if others see the same beauty in things that I do, and this stone was just cool! I’m thinking extremely simple…a solitaire setting.

Leave a Reply

