Teletubbies and one-track minds

12 Oct

Over the hills and far away,  Katie’s pendant comes to play!

SEE???

SEE???

Carla and Jenny agreed with me without even knowing they were doing so.  Which is my favorite kind of agreeing with me.  It allows me to sit back and pretend I thought of things first, and say, with an air of self-satisfaction, “Ah, yes.  That is exactly what I already said, and now I see that everyone agrees with me.”  Y’all should try it.  But I really was feeling the tourmaline pendant was very Teletubby,  very Dipsy-esque.  That’s exactly what I thought it looked like.  I promise.  Seriously.  No, really.

Before I posted about the pendant, I told the boys I thought it looked like a Teletubby.  Having said that, of course they saw the resemblance, and so I stopped offering that idea up for consideration; I wanted to see if anyone else saw the similarity without prompting.

As I spoke to my friends throughout the day,  I asked if they would take a look and tell me what they thought.

“Why,” they all asked, ” you’re not sure if you like it?”

“I like it, ” I’d say, “but once I shot it and looked at the images….well, now it reminds me of something else, and I can’t get it out of my head.  Go look?”

“Ooooh,” they’d say, as if my concern was one common to me, “does it look phallic?”

No, it doesn’t look phallic.  I don’t make phallic jewelry!  At least not under my real name.  I use my Mom’s.

On Friday night I took the pendant with me to Riley’s soccer practice. Here, none of my soccer-parent friends mentioned phalluses before seeing  it.  Only afterwards.

“If you take off the granules,” Bob said, “then it would look just like a penis!”

Another parent added, helpfully, “And if you put another tourmaline up top it would really look like…… that.”

The adults snickered like twelve year olds, and  looked at me with a mixture of admiration and amusement: here is a woman obsessed with sex.

My friends,  every single one of them married or living with long-time partners, seem to have penis on the brain; seem to think that I, as the only single one among them, must be oversexed and overly focused upon penises. And as they point their penis-pointing fingers at me,  I think we all need to ask ourselves,  “Who owns this problem?”

Hmmm?


8 Responses to “Teletubbies and one-track minds”

  1. Valerie October 14, 2009 at 11:48 pm #

    Eh Ohhhhh!

  2. Valerie October 14, 2009 at 11:46 pm #

    Sigh!!! I miss my girls watching the Telly Tubbies in their pink fuzzy footie pajamas!!! (boo hoo) Now they want to watch the evil Zach and Kody, and Joanna Louisiana 24/7! I would rather watch Dipsy singing the Hat song – and you remember how much I hated that one!

  3. Jean October 13, 2009 at 5:42 pm #

    Okay, I’ve never seen the Teletubbies and had to ask some of my gal pals who/what they were, frankly anything with a tele in it’s tummy gives me the heebeejeebies; I like Jenny did not see the penis connection either (which makes me wonder if I’m missing out) but I do see a slight resemblance to Rosie, the mechanical maid from the Jetsons…okay, okay I’m a little dated..but really I see Rosie. Now that’s not what I saw when I first looked at this wonderful piece, but when you started making comparisons…well that’s what I see.

    Actually, I think it’s a beautiful piece no matter what it resembles.

    • vakadesign October 14, 2009 at 11:33 am #

      Someone at the soccer fields said a green martian, and that’s up the same alley as Rosie!

      Now I feel as if I need to make something BLATANTLY phallic for you and Jenny, and the rest of us will swear we see nothing penisy at all.

  4. Jenny October 12, 2009 at 7:12 pm #

    I’m not sure whether to feel virtuous that I didn’t see the penis connection or just deprived!

  5. dullgeek October 12, 2009 at 2:41 pm #

    2 comments:

    First as a parent of 4 teletubby lovin’ kids, I think it’s MUCH more tinky winky-esque than dipsy-esque. The triangle that the chain goes through is more reminiscent of TW’s triangle than Dipsy’s … Uh … Dipstick.

    Which is a convenirnt segue to my 2nd comment: I think its a fairly well established fact that married folks have more sex than singles. See point #7 at http://3.ly/zg4. This might explain the thoughts of your fellow soccer moms & dads.

    • vakadesign October 12, 2009 at 5:44 pm #

      Dipstick to sex-life segue, huh? =)

      I know that is true, but it seems everyone believes exactly the opposite!

Leave a Reply

