Tourmaline and Seaglass-Updated

9 Oct

I went into my studio to work on the square ruby, and by mistake I made other things, instead.  This happens a lot.  I find if I just stay in my studio long enough, most of my ideas come to fruition…..at some point.

tourrmaline pendant2

Of the pieces I made this week, first up for show and tell is this seaglass and tourmaline pendant.

I picked up this tourmaline early this year, and  I’ve been sitting on it while I mulled a setting which would really make it sing.

Tourmaline has become one of my favorite go-to stones;  it comes in a wide range of colors, and is a tough 7-7.5 on the Mohs scale.  While it’s pricey, it’s affordably pricey, with good stones in reach for most buyers.

I’ve paired the deep forest green tourmaline with a cool, frosty piece of Maine seaglass and rubbed the gold to a soft, satin finish.    The end result?  Medieval-gone-contemporary-casual chic.

Update:  

It occurred to me that this pendant looks like something familiar.  I’m not going to tell you what it reminds me of, because then you’ll see it, too. 

What if I took all the granules off, except for the one on the bail?  Thoughts?

Left-actual piece.  Right-what if?

Left-actual piece. Right-what if?

5 Responses to “Tourmaline and Seaglass-Updated”

  1. Laura Jones October 22, 2009 at 9:57 am #

    I love your site, so much work must have gone into getting you where you are now. It reminds me of Ella Montclare. She has put together a video that highlights the true effort that goes into making a video yourself. If you’re running things on a small budget and still trying to achieve something beautiful it takes an enormous amount of effort, sweat and tears and I think this video shows this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tsyGWtW5xQY

  2. Lolly October 11, 2009 at 5:48 am #

    I like the granules – they help tie the two stones together. It’s sort of cross/Excalibar looking but I think that fits with the stone and seaglass combo.

  3. G October 11, 2009 at 5:10 am #

    Does it remind you of the cross? I think it looks good either way, and if you’re going for the medieval look, than anything cross-like should be fine. It also has a bit of a spaceship like quality with the granules… dunno may be I just see spaceships everywhere.
    Overall though, this design with a fancy stone and sea glass is amazing.

  4. Jenny October 10, 2009 at 8:22 pm #

    I can’t believe I’m saying this on my first comment in your blog, but it sort of looks like a Teletubby.

    Love your blog, you’re a down to earth, witty lady with a great sense of humour, not to mention an amazingly talented jeweller!

  5. Carla October 10, 2009 at 9:04 am #

    a teletubby? I think its gorgeous. Leave the one on the bottom for sure.
    And stop making things that are so damn pretty I want to buy them all.

Leave a Reply

