Black Diamond Pendant

15 Sep

Blogosphere, one of you who I won’t name (her name rhymes with Shmarla) has had ants in her pants about the black diamond I purchased a while back, and rightfully so.  It’s a beautiful stone, and it’s been hanging on my wall for ages.  Shmarla wrote to ask after the black diamond’s health recently, a subtle nudge and one that makes me wonder if Shmarla might be Catholic, because she guilted me just right.

1.24 ct natural black rose cut diamond, set in 14k gold

1.24 ct natural black rose cut diamond, set in 14k gold

I wanted to do right by this gorgeous diamond; I wanted to create a diamond pendant which would be the antithesis of the generic white diamond solitaire pendants I see far too many of.  A sparkly thing to wear on your pretty neck, but a rich and interesting, warm and elegant sparkly thing.

black diamond pendant 2

I mulled and mulled until I came up with this design, and it took several attempts before I got it right.  It’s the gold granules.  Let’s talk about them.

Before alloying was discovered, granulation was done differently than it is today.   24k does not require solder because it tacks to itself with heat.  Ancient goldsmiths would set the granules in place and heat the base layer from underneath, causing the granules to delicately bond to the piece.  Clustered granules were the norm because they provided support and strength for each other; the bond of each individual granule was to fragile for it to stand alone.

Today, in karated gold, solder is used, and it’s this additional ingredient which can make granulation so tricky.  Strong and wearable, but tricky.  Solder needs flux, either applied separately or mixed with the solder as paste solder, and the solder and the flux move when heated.  Granules are tiny little suckers, and as the flux bubbles and settles, the granule rides the flux like a buoy rides a wave.  The best way to apply granulation is to melt the solder and flux first, and then add the granule.  The molten solder still “grabs” the granule and moves it, but you have much more control.   Unless, of course,  the tiny pieces you’re working with overheat and collapse into a big ball of goo, which they tend to do if you’ve skipped  lunch and are thinking about dating while you work.   Because you’re still as boy-crazy as you were at 15.

So Shmarla, thank you for your gentle nudging, because I needed it to make me get this finished!  I thought of you while making this piece, and I hope you like it as much as I do.  I like it so much I want to marry it, but I’ve already committed myself to the Aquamarine Waterfall Pendant and that would make me a jewelry bigamist.

www.vakadesign.com

10 Responses to “Black Diamond Pendant”

  1. Carla October 4, 2009 at 9:03 pm #

    Its wonderful. I want to sleep in it. You are right that it is great for everyday and I just might never take it off. Your pics don’t do it justice. I am so lucky to have it now! Thank you!

    • vakadesign October 4, 2009 at 10:16 pm #

      I’ve been thinking about you all weekend, wondering if you got it and liked it! I’m so, so glad you are happy with it!

      And you should absolutely sleep in it, and then if anyone asks you what you sleep in? “My diamonds, darling, my diamonds.”

  2. valerie September 26, 2009 at 10:20 pm #

    Wow! This is really beautiful. The last time I saw that diamond it was hanging on the wall, and the design was a doodle on the white board. It looks very pretty and impressive and whatnot.

    • vakadesign September 27, 2009 at 11:06 am #

      I was really pleased with how it turned out. It’s already gone! I think I build it and rebuilt it 3-4 times (it was the granulation which made it so tough), and by the last time I had the granulation down to a science. I could granulate ANYTHING now! Even you, Val! Hold still…….

  3. Carla September 18, 2009 at 11:19 pm #

    well? are you going to sell it?

  4. nightman1 September 17, 2009 at 2:37 pm #

    A BLACK DIAMOND. I didn’t know they even existed.

    As an electronics hobbyist, I’m all too acquainted with the vagaries of solder. In the prosaic world of electronic we generally don’t even try to “tack solder” something to something else, due to the propensity of the first something to end up somewhere else than where you wanted it to stick to the second something.

    Kudos to you for being a soldering daredevil!

    • vakadesign September 17, 2009 at 4:11 pm #

      Yup, they exist! You see a lot of irradiated black diamonds on the market, and I don’t really see the point of them. They are jet black, and indistinguishable from any other jet stone. Natural black diamonds are really very, very dark brown with other colors playing in the light. This one is a very deep espresso color.

      I am a soldering badass!

  5. Carla September 16, 2009 at 2:48 pm #

    Hey you put a link up to Shmarla’s etsy store! KickAss!

  6. Carla September 16, 2009 at 2:47 pm #

    lol I happen to know that Shmarla is NOT Catholic but still loves this anyways! Its also her 30th bday tomorrow…have any birthday deals?? :0)

Leave a Reply

