Levity and boobs

3 Sep

Recently, my jewelry caught the attention of local Creative Loafing contributor, Samantha Webster.  Sam wrote this article about Vaka Design for CL’s online shopping blog, Klepto.   It’s such a flattering piece (thank you, Sam!), and I was thrilled.

I wanted to send the story to a friend, but didn’t have the link handy.  When I googled “katie stein   creative loafing”  I was surprised to see that several jewelry industry blogs had referenced Samantha’s story, including the World Gold Council. Visibility and inclusion like this is all part of building my business, another stepping stone on the path to becoming established.  But it’s the type of stepping stone I haven’t any control over, and so while it might be just a tiny step,  it’s very gratifying.

I called Karen at work.

“The World Gold Council  picked up the Loafing story!  Well, kind of… they have a story based on the Loafing story!”  Karen was not googling and finding fast enough for me, and so I read her the short article.

She was as excited as I was.

“This will really help me look established and add to my credibility when people look for me!” I said.

“Little do they know!”  Said Karen.

Exactly!”

“They have no idea that you have all your gems pinned to your studio wall.”

It’s a solution that works for me. Cartier started this way, I just know it. Every gem in its original container inside a giant ziplock bag, pinned to the wall.  Every stone is in sight; visible, while secure.    It’s a perfectly cromulent system.

“But you know I’ve struggled with that all my life.  With credibility.  Between the boobs and the levity.”   And maybe the levity about the boobs hasn’t helped.

“And this article doesn’t mention either!” Karen points out.

“I KNOW!”

“You should totally send it to everyone you know.”

“Oh, I totally am.”

4 Responses to “Levity and boobs”

  1. Karen September 4, 2009 at 8:54 am #

    “The Facets of My Badassery” would be an excellent title for an autoboigraphy. I’m just sayin’.

    • vakadesign September 4, 2009 at 12:38 pm #

      Maybe I should change “Vaka Design: this is my studio diary,” to “Vaka Design: The facets of my badassery.”

      I’m totally doing that.

  2. valerie September 3, 2009 at 8:51 pm #

    Who knew that you were such a jewellry BAD ASS!

    • vakadesign September 3, 2009 at 9:27 pm #

      Oh honey, the facets of my badassery are boundless. Bound. Less.

Leave a Reply

