Wow.

27 Aug

Holy wow.  Wowwy wow wow wow.  Huh. 

So.  This was new to me.  Did the rest of you know about “creative grooming” competitions for poodles?   I did not know about these, and I’m…..I don’t know what to say.  Should I suggest that we all take a minute and help these dogs find their missing dignity?

These are photographs taken by Ren Netherland, who travels around the world attending creative grooming events. 

Nope.  No. No. No.

No. Just....no.

 

Hold on, I'm trying to find this dog's dignity....it's seems to have gone missing.

Someone sprayed this poor puppy with a big can of Insane.

 

Nothing says cultural sensitivity like grooming your poodle into a bison and smacking a red Native American hand symbol on its ass.

Sweet mother of pearl. That rumbling you hear? That would be millions of Native Americans rolling over in their graves.

 

Great googly mooglies, I said no.

Great googly mooglies, I said no.

 

And.....no.

Look at this dog's eyes. They're saying, "Why? Why did you put chicks on my hienie?"

 

After I saw the pictures above, I went exploring this competitive genre and found the image below.   I think Teenage Mutant Ninja Poodle might be my favorite.  As my little nephew says, “I very love it.”

Noooooo!

29 Responses to “Wow.”

  1. The House Dog September 18, 2009 at 2:08 pm #

    Wow…I’m speechless..The camel wasn’t so bad but the ninja poodle, well that’s just wrong.

    • vakadesign September 18, 2009 at 2:27 pm #

      “Wrong” as in AWESOME, right?

  2. LiteralDan September 8, 2009 at 2:20 pm #

    This does NOT need to be stopped, because it amuses me way too much.

  3. kate September 6, 2009 at 2:15 am #

    Holy shit, no. This needs to be stopped. Those are some sick people.

  4. Kevin September 5, 2009 at 1:07 pm #

    Awful. Just awful.

  5. Libro September 5, 2009 at 11:43 am #

    I’m sure those dogs are just pissed off. No one and nothing wants to look like a teenage turtle not even a ninja one.

  6. Kaylynn September 5, 2009 at 10:53 am #

    There is the lion cut for cats.

    Just so we can be equal opportunity abusers.

  7. Jennifer September 5, 2009 at 10:52 am #

    Oh holy monkey balls- the turtle!

    • vakadesign September 12, 2009 at 1:07 pm #

      Holy monkey balls? Love. It. I’m going to have to work that into my lexicon.

  8. jamie September 5, 2009 at 10:15 am #

    There are no words. Except WTF, which isn’t a word, of course.

    • vakadesign September 12, 2009 at 1:07 pm #

      In this case, I think WTF is a perfectly cromulent word.

  9. twig September 5, 2009 at 10:11 am #

    Doesn’t this warrant animal abuse or at least bad taste or something??!! Our dogs would never wear pink.

  10. jenni/mom2nji September 5, 2009 at 10:07 am #

    Those poor dogs! And Davis is right, cats would not take that, mine would skin me alive. In fact I may be in trouble with her for even thinking of this.

  11. Jenny, Bloggess September 4, 2009 at 8:22 pm #

    Holy. Crap.

  12. Karen August 31, 2009 at 2:19 pm #

    I just realized that you said the photographer TRAVELS AROUND THE WORLD ATTENDING CREATIVE GROOMING EVENTS. I am clearly in the wrong field here. I should have goten my degree in “over-the-top” and I could have had a fulfilling career as a dog-follower too.

    • vakadesign September 1, 2009 at 8:37 am #

      Don’t let jealousy eat you up from the inside out.

  13. Jean August 29, 2009 at 11:28 am #

    I don’t know if this a photoshop re-do but, here are some dyed cats (personally I know my fat feline would not allow me to do this).

    http://www.flickr.com/search/?q=dyed%20cats&w=28601488%40N05

    photos taken by “crayolamom”

  14. Jean August 27, 2009 at 1:04 pm #

    that’s a crime, people can be idiots.

  15. Karen August 27, 2009 at 12:23 pm #

    Can we do that with Dixie? Or Buddy — he’s got really sculptable fur! We don’t have to leave the short-haired dogs out — they could be tie-dyed. It could be a neighborhood event, like a block party. Val can even come back down — Trixie would be a perfect white canvas of a puppy!

    • vakadesign August 27, 2009 at 2:19 pm #

      Jake gets a nice ‘fro going when his hair gets long…..maybe we should groom him into something?

  16. Amy August 27, 2009 at 10:28 am #

    That’s just awful. I do have a little pomeranian that would look really cute tye dyed though…

    • vakadesign August 27, 2009 at 2:21 pm #

      I think my favorite is the culturally sensitive bison with the faux bison penis and native american red hand symbol on its butt.

  17. davis August 27, 2009 at 8:26 am #

    Where is the Humane Society when you need them? Cats would never put up with such garbage

    • vakadesign August 27, 2009 at 5:02 pm #

      Davis, I so, so, so wanted to prove you wrong, and I’ve really searched for pictures of cats done up in ridiculous coiffures. Nothing!

      • TK September 5, 2009 at 9:21 pm #

        Here’s a cat for you.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sådan en hund ønsker jeg mig › Cirkusprinsesse.dk - September 5, 2009

    […] Vaka Design via The Bloggess […]

Leave a Reply

