Maine Seaglass Ring

17 Jul

Shall we take a look at what came out of my studio today?

Maine Aqua Seaglass Ring

Maine Aqua Seaglass Ring

I loved the color and shape of this piece of seaglass, and wanted the ring to feel ancient and regal, rustic and elegant, feminine but not delicate.  I’m really pleased with the outcome.

In creating the bezel, I left the base a bit wide to accommodate the gold granules.  I do love the granules, but I also liked the look of the extended base before I attached them, and I plan on playing with the extended base in some upcoming designs.

While I’ve had this design in mind for some time, I was hesitant to execute it because of the higher price tag the piece would call for.  The weight of the gold granules adds considerably to my materials cost, and their addition also requires a substantial amount of work time.  My simpler seaglass rings (priced  from $150-$250) are usually purchased soon after listing,  but I’m uncertain if a ring featuring seaglass, instead of a precious gem, will be salable at a higher price. This bit of seaglass is such a beautiful little jewel, though, and I didn’t want anything less than the most perfect setting for it.

I’ll list this tomorrow morning, but right now I’m very tired, blogosphere.  I’m going to go get in my pajamas and curl up with my new book.

www.vakadesign.com

7 Responses to “Maine Seaglass Ring”

  1. lizzscore August 16, 2009 at 4:42 pm #

    rustic, gorgeous and lovely, love it all! As you will sea I am rather partial to a bit of sea glass aswell!

    • vakadesign August 16, 2009 at 6:46 pm #

      Oooohh! I can’t see your pieces up close, but I likey! Can’t wait to see your jewelry page when it’s out of construction!

  2. Carla July 20, 2009 at 6:24 pm #

    I love the seaglass too

  3. G July 18, 2009 at 12:55 pm #

    I LOVE this ring, seaglass and all! (I wish I could afford it 🙂

    • vakadesign July 18, 2009 at 5:06 pm #

      I thought of you as I posted this! I wondered if you’d like this one, Galina!

  4. severnyproductions July 17, 2009 at 8:21 pm #

    Good for you

Leave a Reply

