My pretties

14 May
From my garden

From my garden

May in North Carolina is a pretty spectacular thing.  For the next month the region is a riot of blooms and color and flower scent, and late spring is one of the reasons I’m in love with this beautiful state.

Blooming in my yard this morning?  Peonies, lilies, roses, huge shrubby mounds of lavender, mock orange, salvia, verbena,  dianthis and honeysuckle.   I know we’re all supposed to dispair of the invasive honeysuckle, but I can’t.  I love the smell of it, and it reminds me of childhood and hours spent pulling apart the blossoms, licking drops of honeysuckle nectar. *

When I take a break from work this afternoon, I’ll sit quietly on my bench swing in the shade, and have a cup of tea.  I might even have several cups of tea, and not go back into the studio at all.  It’s just too pretty to be inside.

 

* Don’t know what I’m talking about?  Here is a step-by-step of pulling the nectar from honeysuckle blossoms.

www.vakadesign.com

One Response to “My pretties”

  1. Carla June 7, 2009 at 9:32 am #

    beautiful flowers

Leave a Reply

