Those kinky Germans

27 Apr

Swiss voters ban nude hiking in Alps?
APPENZELL, Switzerland (AP) — Voters in the heart of the Swiss Alps on Sunday passed legislation banning naked hiking after dozens of mostly German nudists started rambling through their picturesque region.

The cantonal government recommended the ban after citizens objected to encountering walkers wearing nothing but hiking boots and socks.

German Web sites promoting the activity describe it as “a special experience of nature, free and healthy” and said nude walking in the Alps has roots in antiquity.

A similar legal move is expected in neighboring Appenzell Outer Rhodes. The nationalist Swiss People’s Party has advised the cantonal parliament it is preparing legislation against “this shameless behavior.”

Huh.  Really?

A “special experience of nature, free and healthy?”  You know the last place I’d like to be naked?  In the middle of a forest, branches smacking against me as I walk, bugs swarming as I scramble up the rocky hillside, my bits and pieces swinging free.  Naked hiking has its “roots in antiquity?” I have a hard time believing that.  Walking in the woods butt-naked has never been a good idea.

Even if I were the Queen of Everything, and could ensure total privacy, I think it would be a good idea to keep my knickers on in the woods.

3 Responses to “Those kinky Germans”

  1. 94vette February 18, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    I was an archaeologist and did it all the time, not in dense forest but if it was sunny I did it and I never really got cut up. In fact with clothes I was cut more because you just pound through stuff.

  2. nightman1 June 6, 2009 at 12:21 pm #

    This strange and no doubt highly uncomfortable practice provides a fine example of how people can become so enamored of a silly idea that they blithely fail to notice the scrapes, shreds, welts, bruises, cuts, bugbites etc. that it directly leads to.

    Especially Germans.

    • vakadesign June 6, 2009 at 12:30 pm #

      Exactly! I can’t imagine an activity less well-suited to nudity =)

Leave a Reply

