Soon, it will be pretty

5 Mar

Pendant in the works

I’ve finished all the hot work, and this is about to go in the pickle to remove the oxidation. Pure gold does not oxidize, but I use 14k and the alloys (silver and copper)  oxidize under high heat.

I designed this to hang on a doeskin cord (I know, I know!), and the toggle with which it will close is to the right of my thumb.

Some of the most beautiful turquoise in the world comes from the middle-east, and the piece I’ve chosen to use in this pendant is from Afghanistan, and quite different from American-mined turquoise.

In the US, we usually see turquoise set in sterling, but in the rest of the world it’s more traditional to use gold.   I love the blue with the gold and how it references other cultures (eastern, South American), but the setting and leather are a nod back towards American silverwork.

Look to see this listed in my shop this afternoon.

www.vakadesign.com

Leave a Reply

