A day’s work

26 Jun

Hello, my darlings!  How was everyone’s day, today?

I had a wonderful day, because I now have air conditioning in my studio!  It was lovely and cool in my fortress of solitude, and the new air conditioner emits a slight hum which blocks the sound of the children’s voices.  I did NOT die of heat stroke, and I also did not have to listen to most of today’s heated sibling debate: who would most own the dog we are not getting.  They were arguing about a THEORETICAL dog, while our perfectly good real dog lay nearby, ignored. I really love them.

And while I was in the cool, quiet studio, I made this: 

Image

I’ll finish up the setting and set the garnet tomorrow morning, and then I will show you the finished piece!

5 Responses to “A day’s work”

  1. aurumeve June 27, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

    Very pretty setting for the stone! Congrats on the AC :)
    AurumEve.com ~ Global Jewelry

    • vakadesign June 28, 2013 at 6:46 am #

      The AC is wooonderful, but the door? The door with which I shut the world out is a thing of deep beauty.

      • aurumeve June 28, 2013 at 11:36 am #

        haha I agree!!!! I just did that! :)

  2. Inland Picker June 27, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

    Like it already (you may have invented a new category – a beautiful setting without a stone)…and your commentary, which is instructive and hilarious. If this isn’t as good as or better than (this is America – we MUST compete!) Julie’s “My Year of Cooking Dangerously” – your Years of Smithing Dangerously – then the catchers of movie idea pitchers are off their game. I recommend a blue heeler when you get your dog ;)

    • vakadesign June 27, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

      We are SO not getting a dog…yet. Last year, I bought Jake an “almost full-grown, 50lb, black lab mix.” I wasn’t there when he picked her out, or I would have told him that the “almost full grown” mutt was a 5-6 month old pure lab. She’s now 87 pounds of sweetness, and all the dog this house needs! She’ll move out with Jake when he leaves, and THEN we will adopt another!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

